The Club Of God-Fearing Men- 10

She picked on the first ring, like she had been waiting for the call.
For an instant, Genesis was caught off-guard.
“Finally!” she spoke, almost breathless. “Hello, who’s this?”
“I…um…this is Genesis from…”
“Ah, Genesis! I need a favour from you immediately, please! Do you stay anywhere around Opebi?”
He didn’t understand what was going on, but he replied, “Erm…yeah. I stay somewhere around Berger.”
Her sigh of relief was audible. “Good. Please, I need you.”
“Excuse me, but do you know who you’re speaking with?” He asked, befuddled.
“Genesis, yeah? Stalker dude with the weird name from Grace Assembly and then the club?” her words came out sounding like full-stops. Like she was fighting to be cordial yet abrupt; like she was talking to a 911 operative.
“Well, yes…no. I mean…”
He was no stalker dammit.
“Which is it please?”
“Yes, I am that Genesis.”
“Please I need your help…just…come over, please. Here’s my address.”
She didn’t wait for him to respond as she rattled off the address.
“When you get to the gate, just call me,” she said, with a finality that he could not argue.
Genesis wanted to ask if she was crazy, if she knew what time of the night it was. He wanted to tell her he wasn’t coming.
Instead, he said okay and hung up.
He did not think about it as he hurried into his clothes. There was nothing to think about, his brain wasn’t going to process anything about the situation at this moment so he figured his best bet was to get to her place and figure this whole thing out.
As he drove out of his compound, it occurred to him that she hadn’t bothered to know how he would find his way to her place. What if he didn’t own a car?
It was Sunday night, the roads were free and in ten minutes, he arrived at her gate.
As soon as he called to inform her of his presence, he saw the gate parting to let him in. In the dimness of his car lights, he saw her. She was carrying something.
He watched her struggle with the gate with one hand, while using the other to support the bundle she was carrying.
He stepped out of the car towards her.
“Leave it. I’ll open it,” he said, taking over.
She nodded and he noticed she was perspiring. Her feet were bare, like she had rushed out not caring.
What was going on?
He drove in and closed the gate behind him. By the time he was out of the car, she was standing on the porch.
“What’s happening?” he asked.
“Come in. I need you to help me with the girls.”
She turned to enter the house and Genesis saw her stumble, instinctively he reached out to steady her and his hand brushed against her skin. He recoiled.
She was burning hot.
“Jesus! You’re burning up!” he exclaimed, stretching his hand to take the bundle, which turned out to be one of the girls, from her.
“I’ll be fine. She’s worse.”
And yes she was; the little girl’s body seemed to be prickling with heat.
“You’re all sick?” he asked, following her into the house.
“Talk later. I need to get a wet towel to calm her temperature down. Would you do that for me, please?”
Genesis thought she looked terrible, she was almost swaying on her feet and there were bags under her eyes.
“Sure. Where do I get water and the towel?”
She pushed a small pink towel into his free hand and pointed him in the direction of what he surmised was the guest bathroom.
“Just keep dabbing her body with it. I have to attend to Amber.”
He didn’t ask questions; instead, cradling the whimpering girl in his arms, he set to work.
He didn’t see her again for another thirty minutes, mostly because he was busy with the girl and he didn’t bother looking up to know her mother’s whereabouts.
“You’d be fine, honey,” he whispered, over again to the child. Sometimes he found himself muttering soothing words he couldn’t remember, words whose origin he couldn’t fathom.
“Hey, how’s it going?” Abbey’s voice startled him from behind.
“It’s better than before,” he replied, touching the girl’s neck.
“Okay. I need to give her Paracetamol. Give her to me.”
“You can’t handle any more tonight. Don’t worry, I’ll carry her.” With that he lifted the child and carried her back to the living room.
He laid her on the couch, placing the damp towel on her forehead.
“Which one are you?” he asked, hoping to get her to talk.
She sniffed, blinking. “Augusta,” her voice cracked with unshed tears.
“Beautiful name for a princess. Augusta, you will stop crying now, okay? By tomorrow morning, you would be up and running, promise.”
Her nod was barely visible.
Abbey knelt beside him, touching her fingertips to her daughter’s face.
“Star baby, mummy’s gonna give you your drugs now and then pray for you. And then you’re gonna sleep and wake up tomorrow, good as new, okay?”
Genesis glanced at her, admiring the cheerfulness and hope in her voice. One he was sure she didn’t feel.
“Mummy…I’m afraid,” her voice was small as she spoke.
“Oh my baby, afraid of what?” Abbey was sitting now, a tremor in her voice.
“What if…what if…I don’t wake up tomorrow?”
The sheer simplicity of her question tore at Genesis heart and without thinking he said;
“Of course you will wake up tomorrow. Or don’t you want to see my handsome face again? Remember I promised you a treat when you get well?”
His heart warmed at the semi-smile that formed at the corner of her mouth.
“Okay…but my sister will come with us too.” She said, still in her soft voice.
“Deal.” He gave her a small tap on her hand.
*******

The next time he checked the clock, it was half past midnight and that was when he had the opportunity to actually settle down with Abbey.
After administering her meds, Star had drifted to sleep almost immediately but Amber had needed more attention because she had been having difficulty breathing all night as a result of her asthma.
After some struggle, she had finally drifted to sleep and Genesis had helped tuck both girls in.
It was when he and Abbey both slumped on the couch in the living room that he realised how much time had gone by.
“You don’t know what you’ve done for me, Genesis,” Abbey began, running her fingers through her weave. “I owe you big.”
She looked tired, like she had just been through a marathon. Despite the chilly air in the living room, she still had beads of sweat formed on her nose. It was then he noticed she was still fully dressed in one of her customary turtle necks.
“You should take a cold bathe. Your temperature was a bit on the high side when I came in,” he said. It occurred to him that there was nothing suggestive about his suggestion. It was something he would say to an old friend. The thought of it made him smile inwardly.
“I’m fine. Don’t worry about me,” she said.
“At least get rid of the turtleneck,” he said. “We don’t want you sick too.”
“Genesis, I said I’m fine, okay?” she snapped.
He nodded, standing. “I think I’ll take my leave now, ma’am.”
She shuffled to her feet too, her hand reaching out to touch him. “I’m sorry. I’m just a bit strung out. You’ve really been a God-send. It’s late, you should stay…”
Under different circumstances, Genesis would not have hesitated to take her up on her offer, but it crossed his mind that she was probably asking out of courtesy, not because she really wanted him there. After all, she had used him, what more did she need him for?

And so he shook his head.
“I should leave.” He didn’t wait for her to protest; instead he took long strides to the door, closing it softly behind him, he let the darkness embrace him.
To Be Continued…
Mimi A.

13 thoughts on “The Club Of God-Fearing Men- 10

  1. Aw! This episode made for such a delightful read Mimz! Yet, you say Genesis is not been had! When a man and a confirmed player at that, finds that sex is the furtherest thing from his mind as it applies to a lassie he’s been meaning to claim and conquer, then you know it for a fact that love has set in! Better put, a man who just ups on the spur of the moment unplanned, mounts atop his royal stead; to go play knight in shiny armour in the middle of the night to a damsel in distress and even babysits for her….love again! Genesis is definitely in love! Cupid set its sight on him, aimed straight and hit the target….his heart! Bullseye!!! 😂😁

    I had such fun reading this episode and I can tell you authoritatively too, that Abbey’s also feeling the stalker dude! He was deemed memorable when she dished out on every single rendezvous they’d had! And now, with being prettty helpful in caring for her most precious treasures….hmmm, I say a sizzling love story’s ’bout now brewing on here! Genesis’ buddies are in for a rude shock, I’ll bet they didn’t see this twist coming! Nuh-uh! 😈😆

    Let’s have the next episode already Mimz lovey and know ye this….even macho men couldn’t possibly resist the ethereal feeling that is love; when it comes calling! Pity! 😛😄

    You churn out the most fantastic tales gurl, you’re straight-up amazing and you do rock too! 👍👏😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Undeserved?! That’s what you see dearie! Remember you really can’t see yourself, even if you do employ the use of a mirror! 😂😂 But I, and an immeasurable number of folks, not only see; we also read you loud and clear, so do well to lose that modesty suit; it does you no justice! You’re phenomenal, my perception, my take and I tender no apologies too! Sue me!!! 🙉😛😆

        Like

  2. I refuse to lose hope in my macho Genesis, Yemz! There could be maaannyy other explanations for his behavior.

    Besides, he no longer wants to nail her na. He changed his mind about it since, didn’t he? Hihihihihi.

    I’m still rooting for Genesis!

    Go Gen! Go Gen! Go Gen!

    I actually did enjoy writing this episode too. Twas a teeny bit mushy.

    I’ll definitely keep writing ma’am, knowing you’re reading. 🙂

    You rock, major!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eh yaa … I hate to say this but I agree with Yemz on this one. Gen-baba don fall my hand; no, na just one finger im fall shaa. Even Hercules had a soft spot.

    Well DONE, Mims

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I actually didn’t see this coming. Genesis was such a perfect gentleman.
    Now that’s some nice narrative.
    You should take breaks more often Mimi so far as you continue to wrought out delightful pieces as this every time you return…
    Kudos

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehehe. Wole, I think that’s not such a bad idea too.

      I didn’t see this coming either. Genesis be taking me on an exodus trip. All I’m doing is penning down his activities.

      Thanks a whole lot dearie!

      Liked by 1 person

Don't leave without saying something: